Life Update

So I did say, if I had anything I wanted to share, then I would come back and share it!

At the time when I took my break from monthly updates, I knew I was pregnant. In some way, I felt like I would be being dishonest by saying “not much is going on” as it was at a time I wasn’t ready to share the news widely beyond close family and a couple of friends.

So that’s my big news! As I type this, I am 21 weeks. I ran the Wonderland 20k when I was about 5 weeks pregnant and feeling really, really sick! In both of my pregnancies I have had nausea that has been pretty intense. Thankfully this time round, my GP was able to suggest some medication to help which has eased it around 13 weeks so life is a lot easier!

On the other hand, it has been exhausting. As anyone who has had or does have young children in their lives, they know that they do not stop. So the downtime that I have available to rest is somewhat limited!
I also found that I was living my life as if I wasn’t pregnant. I wasn’t resting as much as I could have been when I had the opportunity and have really become aware of that and pulled back on a few things.

Things like stopping running for now. I love running but I was feeling achey and uncomfortable. Plus whenever I ran, I would be pushing my daughter in the running pram. She is growing and being amazing but also getting heavier so with the weight I was gaining through pregnancy and her growing weight gain, it just wasn’t practical to continue running for now!

I also cut back on my gym session time. I discussed with my coach doing one session split over two days as I only have two days available to do a gym session, so instead of doing a longer session twice a week, I now have a 2 week cycle of a program. Thankfully my daughter is still having daytime naps so I can train during that time and then ‘usually’ have enough time for a lie down after my session to rest a bit before she wakes up. Usually!

Overall, I am doing well. I now have a bit more energy, I am focusing more on rest when I can which has helped.

I have no plans to book any races like I did last time returning after birth. I will wait until I feel ready to start moving again, running again and then racing. It will be a big adjustment going from a family of 3 to a family of 4 so I don’t want to add anything else to this as well!

Leave a comment